Jackdaw Quarry Lodge Reviews

Lodge detailsBook Lodge

Five stars
“Beautiful.”
June 17, 2016 by Hannah & Matt H.

We've just come away from a week spent at Jackdaw Quarry Lodge. We had such a lovely week, the lodge is beautiful and Allison and Graeme have really thought of everything and made it feel very much like home. Within the information pack kindly sent to us by Graeme was a map and some information on Bay View, Bolton le Sands looking out across Morecambe Bay. We decided to visit Bay View on our first day as it sounded like a good place to take our two labradoodles for a walk and it's only a 5-10 mins drive from the lodge.

Five stars
“Superb, we will be back.”
June 9, 2016 by Timothy J. via Facebook

Superb accommodation, really well thought out fixtures and fittings, and everything is spotlessly clean. Availability is limited because it is booked solid so book well in advance to avoid disappointment. Money well spent. We will be back.

Five stars
“Peaceful luxury.”
January 7, 2016 by Rachel M. via HomeAway

My husband and I arrived home yesterday from a 3 night break at Jackdaw Quarry Lodge and it was fabulous. The owner Graeme was more than helpful in the lead up to our stay offering us information about the lodge and the local area. The lodge itself cannot be faulted it is just as lovely as depicted in the photos but with extra luxuries thrown in such as games, DVDs, toiletries and a delicious fruit basket and other extras for our arrival.

The quarry itself is even more charming than I thought, with a vast cliff side and crystal clear waters (you can see the divers in the water) it really was the essence of relaxation and peacefulness. We had visitors join us on our 2nd and 3rd nights and they were equally as impressed as we were. I imagine in the Spring and Summer months this area comes alive even more however considering it was January it truly was amazing.

Five stars
“I would write a bad review, to keep my dates free.”
October 14, 2015 by Jeanette D. via HomeAway

I would like to write a bad review so when I want to return my dates always available! But I can't lie.... This has to be one of the best places to stay in this region, the lodge was perfect. The photos do not do it justice! It is even better. It's perfectly located to get to a host of different locations. Every item you need in the house is there AND more! The property was superb! I will definitely be back when I am looking for a place in this region. The only problem will be, getting the date before someone else does...... Book well in advance, as this place is THAT GOOD!

Five stars
“Stunning.”
September 30, 2015 by Stuart Q. via HomeAway

Everything about the place is relaxing. Walk through the front door & you are greeted by a panoramic view across the quarry lake to cliffs & hills beyond. The house was immaculately clean, well maintained. The owners were kind enough to leave us fresh flowers, milk, bread, butter, tea, coffee, a fruit-bowl etc. & the kitchen came with every appliance & utensil you could ever need.
Despite only being 5 minutes from the motorway, it was silent except for the tweeting of birds and the occasional splash from the fish - FYI, the lake is crystal clear! If the sun is overhead, you can see down to the bottom or watch divers swimming past underwater.
The fit and finish everywhere was first rate, everywhere is tastefully decorated and it has one of the best showers I have ever had - honestly, I loved the shower so much, I stayed in there too long & started getting dizzy from overheating :/

Five stars
“Paradise.”
August 21, 2015 by Andrea E. via HomeAway

Wow what a stunning property and location! We holiday as a family 4 times a year and Jackdaw Lodge is by far the best quality property we have stayed in both in the UK and abroad! I loved the fact that everything is top quality from the fixtures and fittings and appliances to the furniture. The property is very well designed, we took my mum with us as well as our 14 year old twin boys, so having enough room and facilities to keep everyone occupied was always going to be a challenge but we needn't of worried, there is so much space in the lodge and the smart tvs in each bedroom and a sky sports package for the boys meant everyone was catered for.

The overall feel of the lodge is so relaxing and peaceful, the views over the quarry were beautiful, the water in the quarry looked stunning every day, sitting on the balconies in the early morning and evening was my favourite, it felt like paradise! My sister came to see the lodge whilst we were there and she too feel in love with it, so much so that we booked that evening both Jackdaw Lodge and Clearwater Heights lodge for October next year! This is a must if you like me want 5 star quality in a property, I am now recommending Jackdaw Lodge to all of my friends, family and work colleagues, quite a thing as I rarely recommend! Looking forward to returning in October 2016, thank you Graeme & Allison for providing such a wonderful property.

Five stars
“Fantastic house, location and attention to detail. Wonderful!!”
May 22, 2015 by David T. via HomeAway

Walked into Jackdaw Quarry Lodge to find a great welcome pack, including wine, fantastic views, wonderful accommodation and amazing attention to detail. Not only were the humans well catered for, but so we're our dogs! This was 5Star plus. We had a superb time and have only been back a few days and are already recommending it to friends. We will be back!!!

Five stars
“A truly fantastic place to stay.”
May 6, 2015 by Mark C. via HomeAway

I can't say much more than what all the other reviewers have already said before. I read all the reviews prior to booking and thought that it sounded good but surely some of the reviewers must have been going a little overboard. I was wrong on that front as it really is as good as people say it is. This lodge ticks all the boxes of comfort, style, location and overall feel. We didn't have the greatest weather but that made us enjoy the place even more as it was so well fitted out. We will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Five stars
“Fantastic lodge in beautiful setting.”
March 23, 2015 by Sabera Y. via HomeAway

In a nutshell - it was utterly fantastic :)

A group of my extended family stayed with me at the lodge over a long weekend. The details given prior to arrival were incredibly detailed - and the owner (Graeme) was extremely helpful & replied to emails very promptly.

The house looks deceptively small on first glance, but as soon as I entered - it was exactly as shown in the photographs. There was every amenity you could possibly wish for and we were not left wanting for anything. The kitchen had all the utensils & equipment needed, living area has a huge smart TV and comfy sofas (& a big collection of dvds and board games). The bathrooms are done to a very high spec - I spent far too much time in the shower and bath!

The bedrooms were spacious with ample storage space and access to the balconies. Which leads me to the amazing balconies - we spent a lot of time on them- relaxing on the loungers, watching divers, listening to the birds. We had a great view of the sunrises from there and star-gazed at night. It was beautiful & tranquil but I felt safe knowing the lodges next door were also occupied. Definitely recommend it & would love to return soon :) :)

Five stars
“Simply stunning - We'll be back!”
January 3, 2015 by Jo. via HomeAway

We stayed here at the end of November 2014 and fell in love with Jackdaw Quarry from the moment we walked through the door. What a beautiful place. From the upside down layout of the lodge, which works so well, the attention to detail both inside and out, in that we had pretty much everything we could have needed and the fabulous welcome pack of bread, milk, wine and a fruit bowl waiting for us when we arrived we couldn't have asked for more. It really does feel like a home from home and we felt really sad when we had to leave. In fact we loved it so much we have booked it return early 2015 to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

The balconies are just great to sit and chill on, even when it's a bit cool outside & they showcase the quarry beautifully. My husband had great fun throwing the fish some bread from there, along with watching the divers from Capernwray. Our dog had a great time & settled down really quickly- he loved sitting out on the balconies too. It's a special place & we'd defy anyone not to fall for its charms. Graeme is a fabulous host and so helpful throughout your stay, it's clear he wants his guests to enjoy the quarry and the surrounding area. Their love for the place is obvious & rightly so.

Five stars
"Wish we could have had more time!"
December 16, 2014 by Vena. via HomeAway

What an absolute find!! A beautiful lodge set in the most peaceful idilyic surroundings! The lodge itself is the nicest self catering place we've ever stayed. Super stylish with all the latest mod cons without compromising on comfort. It is really was home from home, we really wanted to stay longer!

I'm disappointed I didn't take my two dogs now...given the spacious utility room already containing a cage with all the doggy bits you'll need to cater for your canine pals! Graeme and Allison are perfect hosts, thank you both again for the hospitable extras and all your advice run up and throughout our stay! We will be back :-)

Five stars
"Feels like heaven."
July 29, 2014 by Mairead C. via HomeAway

Utterly miserable - is how we felt at having to leave... You arrive and open the doors to a little piece of heaven. It’s as exciting as Christmas when you are a child discovering all the amazing things that add heart to this home - bread, fruit, wine, milk - all the equipment you could possibly need or want and where to even begin with the outdoor activities, the views, the wildlife... The beds, bedding, decor, books, games, smart TV's, DVD's, the shower you could spend a day in... Henry our dog had his own bedroom/cage in the utility room! with all of these things to hand should it have rained you wouldn't mind if it did.

We had wonderful weather and the night we arrived so did remote control fans for our rooms should we have needed them. The customer service was of a standard I have never experienced with this type of holiday before. Graeme & Allison and every person we met couldn't have been more helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable - even the fish in the quarry are friendly! I would challenge anyone to stay here and be happy about returning to the ‘real world’.

Five stars
"Breathtaking!"
June 26, 2014 by John C. via HomeAway

My wife and I booked Jackdaw to get a break from the world for a week and it was just what the doctor ordered. I travel constantly for work so I've become very picky on holiday accommodation, Jackdaw is the first place that has ticked all the boxes for me.. they even arranged for perfect weather!

Location wise you could not ask for more. The lodge overlooks Jackdaw quarry, a beautiful secluded quarry used by a local diving centre. We spent many a morning and evening on the balcony with a glass of wine looking over the lake, absolutely outstanding. Its quiet, not overlooked by anyone and the views are great.

Nearby there is a great cafe, cosy pub and village shop a dog walk away plus all the lakes have to offer a short drive away. I'd also recommend going down the diving centre to have a look around, grab a beer or maybe go for a dive or swim.. I rented a lightweight wetsuit and went for a lap of the quarry one afternoon... its a longer lap than you think !!! (I retired to the balcony to watch others swimming with a glass of wine, far more civilised !)

We loved the beds, very comfy (took pics to buy the same when we got home) the huge shower and deep bath are superb (also noted to steal all ideas on return), the living area expansive and very comfy. The best thing about the open plan living area upstairs is the ability to open the full wall of windows on sunny days and cooking on the balcony BBQ.

The kitchen has everything you need plus the utility has a washing machine and dryer,... basically its all mod cons plus some other you don't have at home but now instantly covert.. who knew houses could hoover themselves !! For me one of the best bits was however the connectivity and technology... usually I have to choose between home comforts or seclusion, Jackdaw provides both.

We were able to escape from the world, have breathtaking views and relax whilst also seamlessly using all manner of our iphones, ipads, apple tv and laptops on the fast and easy to use broadband and awesome TV's.

Hands down the best holiday accommodation I've ever stayed in.. we came home and rebooked later this year (and started stealing all the decor ideas!)

Five stars
"Stunning!"
May 13, 2014 by Sue E. via HomeAway

The holiday home was relaxing and extremely comfortable. The owners have thought of everything to make the stay enjoyable. We particularly loved watching the divers and large fish in the quarry viewed from the beautiful balconies. There were shelducks, oyster catchers and we could here peregrine falcons nearby. One of our party said it was like staying in a five star hotel! We all agreed.

Five stars
"A beautiful place to stay."
April 19, 2014 by Gerald T. via HomeAway

Jackdaw Lodge is a well appointed, beautifully presented property in a wonderful location.

Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms, lakeside balconies (perfect for outdoor breakfasts, barbecues or an early evening drink), well equipped kitchen, smart tv's and wi-fi.

Jackdaws flying past all day long, sparrowhawks feeding their young on the quarry face opposite, the occasional fox strolling along the quarry top at dusk, shoals of trout swimming past ( throw in a few pieces of bread and see the water boil with fish), all in all a wonderful, relaxing place for a break.


Five stars

Jackdaw Quarry Lodge


A stunning, five star eco lodge atop a hillside overlooking the tranquil waters of Jackdaw Quarry.
Average/night: £162

Sleeps: 6

Gallery Book now
Photos View All

Jackdaw Lodge from the lake view of the Lake District from Jackdaw Lodge Bedroom 2 as two singles Downstairs bathroom Downstairs bathroom Downstairs bathroom